General NewsPolitics

250 Chairmanship aspirants jostle for 57 seats in Lagos

No fewer than 250 chairmanship aspirants under the Lagos State Chapter of All Progressives Congress (APC), are currently jostling for the 57 vacant chairmanship positions across the state.

Also, about 800 councillorship aspirants are vying for the various vacant positions under the umbrella of the same political party across the state.

This is just as the Lagos State Chapter of the party has inaugurated the screening and election appeal committees for the forthcoming Local Government elections scheduled for July 2021 in the State.

Speaking at the inauguration exercise which held at the Ikeja party secretariat on Tuesday, the state chairman of the party, Hon Tunde Balogun expressed confidence and satisfaction at the quality of the membership of the two committees who are eminent Nigerians drawn from various sectors.

While admonishing the committee members to deliver on their assignments with diligence and integrity so as to ensure the emergence of credible flag-bearers for the party in the coming elections, Balogun informed that 250 chairmanship and 800 Councillorship aspirants would be contesting in the July council polls.

He commended all the aspirants for the tremendous response and passion to serve at the grassroots for the attainment of a greater Lagos.

Speaking on behalf of other members of the screening and appeal committees, the chairman of the committee, Prof. Abayomi Durosinmi Etti expressed his delight to be invited to serve and contribute his quota to the growth of democracy in Nigeria.

He however assured both the party and all aspirants of the readiness of his committee to deliver on the assignment.

Chairman of the appeal committee, Otunba Femi Pedro appreciated the opportunity avail to him by the party while assuring on the honorable execution of their duties.

Other members of the Screening Committee are Mr Babatunde Ogala-vice chairman, Hon Adetoun Adediran-secretary, Prof Adeniyi Harrisson and Honorable Oyinlomo Danmole.

Other members of the Screening Appeal Committee are Barr Folasade Bakare as secretary, Hon Sejoro James, Hon Rasaq Balogun and Barr Dele Oloke.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button