General News

Former Senator, Lekan Balogun to succeed Olubadan

FORMER Oyo State senator, High Chief Mashood Olalekan Balogun, is to succeed the immediate past Olubadan of Ibadan Land, Oba Saliu Akanmu Adetunji, who joined his ancestors on Sunday, January 2.


The departed monarch, Oba Adetunji, who was from the Balogun line was, until his installation, the Balogun of Ibadan Land.


He ascended the throne in March 2016 after he succeeded Oba Samuel Odulana Odugade.


Oba Adetunji joined his ancestors in the early hours of Sunday at the age of 93.


The next person to ascend the throne of Olubadan, based on the available information, in line with Ibadan tradition is High Chief Mashood Olalekan Balogun.


Our correspondent learnt that the ascension to the Olubadan stool starts from installation from Mogaji before promotion to either Ajia Balogun of Ibadan land or Ajia Olubadan of Ibadan Land.


Lekan Balogun, as fondly called, represented Oyo Central senatorial district between 1999 and 2003.


Balogun, who was promoted from Mogaji to Ajia Olubadan few decades ago, had earlier worked as a lecturer at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State.


Balogun’s younger brother, Dr. Muhammed Kola Balogun, is currently representing Oyo South Senatorial District in the National Assembly.


Balogun, a doctor of philosophy holder, is a native of Ali-Iwo compound in Ibadan North East Local Government Area of Oyo State.


Balogun is currently the Otun Olubadan of Ibadan land and is currently the most senior chief in Ibadan land.


He is to succeed the monarch in line with Ibadan tradition.


Our correspondent gathered that there are about 34 steps to climb to get into the Olubadan In Council.


All the members of the council are potential future Olubadans with the exception of Iyalode.


Our correspondent gathered that for one to get in to the council you have to climb starting from Mogaji either through one of the two lines; the Olubadan (Civilian line) or the Balogun (Military line).


The list of the current ranking chiefs in Ibadan obtained by our correspondent on Sunday confirmed that Balogun is the next person to ascend the throne.


Here is the list of the most senior high chiefs next to the Olubadan in hierarchy.


High Chief Mashood Olalekan Balogun – Otun Olubadan.


High Chief Akinloye Owolabi Olakunlehin – Balogun of Ibadanland


High Chief Tajudeen Abimbola Ajibola – Otun Balogun of Ibadanland


High Chief Senator Rashidi Adewolu Ladoja – Osi Olubadan


High Chief Eddy Oyewole – Asipa Olubadan


High Chief Lateef Gbadamosi Adebimpe – Osi Balogun.


High Chief Abiodun Kola-Daisi – Eekerin Olubadan


High Chief Salaudeen Hamidu Ajibade – Eekarun Olubadan.

Related Articles

Back to top button