Four Zamfara lawmakers dump PDP for APC

FOUR more lawmakers from Zamfara State on Tuesday, defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to All Progressives Congress (APC).

The four defectors are Bello Shinkafi of the Shinkafi/Zurmi Federal Constituency; Ahmed Bakura, Bakura/Maradun; Ahmed Shehu, Bungudu/Maru; and Suleiman Gummi, Gummi/Bukkuyum.

The members officially announced their defection at the plenary on Tuesday. House Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila read their letters of defection at the opening of the session.

Recall that last week, Governor Bello Matawalle of Zamfara State had formally announced his defection to the PDP to the APC in Gusau, the state capital. This had led to a barrage of defections in the representatives of the Zamfara constituency.

The 24 members of the state House of Assembly, the three senators of the State, and six out of the seven members of the House had followed the governor to the ruling party. The lawmaker representing Zamfara Central Senatorial District, Senator Hassan Gusau, had on Tuesday last week announced his resignation from the PDP in plenary.

Only Zamfara Deputy Governor Aliyu Gusau and a Kabira Marafa of the Anka/Talata-Mafara Federal Constituency have remained in the PDP.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button