Residents flood Sanwo-Olu’s markets to buy food at cheaper rates


CITIZENS COMPASS —Many Lagos residents on Sunday, March 17, 2024, flooded various centers where food items were sold at discounted prices across the State.

Recall that the State Government through its Commissioner, Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotosho, had earlier announced that some food items like rice, tomatoes, eggs, and beans among others would be sold at discounted rates.

True to the government’s words, the pilot scheme for the exercise kicked off as scheduled.

Citizens Compass monitored the exercise in some parts of Ikorodu Division.

Contrary to expectations, some of the places monitored were orderly.
The pilot scheme was successful in Ikorodu Grammar School in Ikorodu West and Zumuratul Islamiya Grammar School in Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area.

Due to inadequate communication about the change of venue, many residents initially flooded Community Junior and Senior Schools, along Igbogbo-Baiyeku Road unknown to them that the venue had been shifted to Zumuratul Islamiya Grammar School in Igbogbo.

The crowd control was smooth at some of the places monitored.
Some of our respondents said the exercise was commendable except for little hitches.

Food prices

5kg bag of rice – N5,325

1kg bag of rice – N1,065

5kg bag of Beans – N6,225

1kg bag of Beans – N1,245

5kg bag of Garri – N3,975

1kg bag of Garri – N795

2kg Tomatoes – N1,800

1kg Atarodo – N1,875

1kg Tatashe – N1,275

1kg Onions – N450

1 crate of eggs – N2,700

Bread – N750

Market locations

Lagos Island

Eti Osa LGA – Ikota Primary School, Lekki -Epe Expressway, Ikota

Eti-Osa East LCDA – Admiralty Farmers Market: Plot 33 Admiralty way, Lekki Phase 1

Ikoyi Obalende LCDA – Old Nursing Ground, 1-9 Awolowo Road, Ikoyi.

Iru Victoria Island LCDA – Victory Island Snr. Secondary, School, Opposite Eko Hotel

Lagos Island LGA – Elegbata Junior High School

Lagos Island East LCDA – Lafiaji Senior Secondary School


Ikorodu LGA – Ikorodu Grammar School

Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA – Zumuratul

Islamiya Grammar School, Igbogbo

Ijede LCDA – Luwasa Jnr High School, ljede

Ikorodu North LCDA – Odogunyan Grammar School, Odogunyan

Ikorodu West LCDA – Cherubim and Seraphim Primary School

Imota LCDA – LGA Pry. School, Imota

Kosofe LGA – St Emmanuel Pry Sch, Ogudu

Ikosi Isheri LCDA – Ikosi High School, Ketu

Agboyi Ketu LCDA – Comprehensive Jnr High School, Agboyi Ketu.

Agege LGA – Dairy Farm Secondary School

Orile Agege LCDA – Saka Tinubu Memorial School, Orile Agege


Ajeromi-Ifelodun – AFRICAN Primary School, (Close to the Secretariat)

Ifelodun LCDA – LA Primary School Layeni, beside the Layeni Police Station, Ojo Road, Ajegunte, Apapa


Alimosho LGA – Ebenezer/Egbeda Primary School, Egbeda

Mosan Okunola LCDA – Alimosho Secondary School, Alimosho.

Agbado Oke-Odo LCDA – Oke Odo Primary School

Igando-Ikotun LCDA – Igando Community Grammar School, Igando

Ayobo -Ipaja LCDA – St Andrews Anglican Pry School, Church Bus Stop,

Lagos Mainland

Lagos Mainland LGA – Nawarudeen Secondary School, Cemetery Street, Ebute Metta

Yaba LCDA – Lagos City College, Sabo, Yaba

Odi Olowo Ojuwoye LCDA – Ilupeju Grammar School, Ilupeju


Oshodi-Isolo – Owoseni Primary School,
Ejigbo LCDA – Oke Afa Snr. Secondary, Jankande Estate

Isolo LCDA – Ire Akari Snr Secondary School, Isolo


Shomolu LGA – Gbagada Comprehensive Jr High School.
Bariga LCDA – Alubarika Primary School


Surulere LGA – Lagos Progressive Pry. Sch, Mbah Str. Surulere.

Coker Aguda LCDA – Aguda Community Senior Secondary School.

Itire-Ikate LCDA – Itire Ikate Primary School, Eleja

Ifako ljaiye LGA – African Church Primary School, College Road
Ojokoro LCDA – Ijaye Ojokoro High School, Ojokoro
Ikeja LGA – Tokunbo Alli Primary School, Ikeja

Ojodu LCDA – Ojodu Grammar School, Omole

Onigbongbo LCDA – Oregun Senior Secondary School

Lagos State Secretariat, Alausa – Adeyemi Bero Auditorium Premises, Alausa

Egbe -Idimu LCDA – Local Govt. Grammar School, Idimu.


Epe LGA – St. Theresa Roman Catholic

Primary School, Awolowo Way, Oke Oyinbo

Eredo LCDA – St Patrick Secondary School Eredo

Ikosi Ejinrin LCDA – Methodist primary school Agbowa

Ibeju Lekki LGA – Ibeju High School, Ibeju Lekki LCDA – Lekki Community High School, Lekki.


Amuwo Odofin LGA – FESTAC Jnr College
Ori Ade LCDA – Satellite Primary School


Apapa LGA – United Christian Pry Sch, Marine Beach.
Apapa lganmu LCDA– Metropolitan Nursery & Primary School Sari – Iganmu, Orile

Badagry LGA – St. Thomas Primary School

Badagry West LCDA – APA Health Center, Opposite LA School, APA

Olorunda LCDA – Anglican Primary School Aradagun (Mosafejo)
– Ojo Snr High School

Iba LCDA – Iba Housing Estate Jnr Secondary School

Oto-Awori LCDA – Oto/Ijanikin Primary School.

Related Articles

Back to top button