General News

Senate Committee recommends creation of 20 new states in Nigeria

CONSTITUTIONAL Review Committee of the Nigerian Senate has recommended the creation of additional new 20 States in the Country.

The Committee also proposed that referendum be conducted for the 20 new states by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Some of the proposed states are:
– ITAI State (from Akwa Ibom State)

– State status for the FCT

-Katagum State from Bauchi State

– Okura State from Kogi East

– Adada State from Enugu State

– Gurara State from Kaduna South

– Ijebu State from Ogun State

-Ibadan State from Oyo State

– Tiga State from Kano State

-Ghari State from Kano State

– Amana State from Adamawa

– Gongola State from Adamawa

– Mambilla State from Taraba State

– Savannah State from Borno State

-Okun state from Kogi State

– Etiti State from the South East Zone

– Orashi State from Imo and Anambra states

-Njaba from the present Imo State

-Excision of Aba State from Abia State;

-Anioma State from Delta State

– Torogbene and Oil River
States, from Bayelsa Delta and Rivers states

-Bayajida State from parts of Katsina, Jigawa, and Zamfara States.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button