Tinubu sacks Solomon Arase, names successor 

CITIZENS COMPASS – President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has relieved the Chairman, Police Service Commission (PSC), Solomon Arase, of his duties.

The President also named a retired Deputy Inspector-General of Police, Hashimu Argungu, as the new chairman of the Commission.

Arase, a retired Inspector General of Police was shown the way out on Monday, June 10, 2024, having served for some years since the advent of former president Muhammadu Buhari.

Ajuri Ngelale, presidential spokesperson, announced the appointment in a statement released on Monday.

The statement titled “President Tinubu appoints new leadership for the Police Service Commission and Nigerian Police Trust Fund.” reads, “President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of DIG Hashimu Argungu (Rtd) as the Chairman of the Police Service Commission.

“The President has also approved the appointment of Chief Onyemuche Nnamani as Secretary and DIG Taiwo Lakanu (retd.) as member of the commission

“The appointments are subject to confirmation by the Senate.
“Other members of the Police Service Commission will be appointed in due course.

“Furthermore, the President has approved the appointment of Mr. Mohammed Sheidu as the Executive Secretary of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund with immediate effect.

“The President expects absolute demonstration of integrity, diligence, and patriotic zeal in the discharge of these important functions for the overall wellbeing of the Nigeria Police and the nation.”

Related Articles

Back to top button