Gunshots in Imo Assembly as six lawmakers get suspension

SPORADIC gunshots on Thursday, took over the space of the Imo State House of Assembly, as six lawmakers of the House were suspended.

The Speaker, Paul Emeziem, who announced the suspension of the lawmakers at the floor of the House, attributed the suspension to “conducting themselves in an unparliamentary manner.”

It was gathered that some of the suspended lawmakers stormed the hallowed chambers and protested that their suspension would not be effective.

Among the suspended lawmakers, four were members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and others were members, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The suspended members included Uche Ogbuagu (APC, Ikeduru) Dominic Ezerioha (APC, Oru West) Micheal Crown (APC, Ihitte Uboma) Kennedy Ibe (APC, Obowo) Anyadike Nwosu ( PDP, Ezinihitte Mbaise), and Phillip Ejiogu (PDP, Owerri North).

It was learnt that gunshots were heard after the plenary had been concluded on the suspension of the lawmakers.

Sources said it was from the security operatives as a result of which both lawmakers and workers scampered for their safety.

Also, the Speaker sacked the Chief Whip of the House, Arthur Eqwim (Ideato North), and replaced him with Obinna Okwara (Nkwerre). In the same development, the Speaker, Emeziem, has dissolved all the standing committees in the House.

However, one of the suspended lawmakers, Mr. Ezerioha  said: “For now I have to be mute. I represent Oru West and my people have to decide.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button