Arrested suspect turns out to be lawyer as Police arraign 47 Yoruba Nation agitators over Public Nuisance

    The rally.

A MILD drama ensued on Monday,  at the Magistrate Court sitting in Yaba, Lagos, as one of the arrested Yoruba Nation agitators has turned out to be a practicing lawyer just as Lagos State Police Command has arraigned 47 arrested agitators before the court.

They were charged for allegedly staging the rally against the state government order and constituting public nuisance.

It was gathered, that the law enforcement agency has also requested that the court grant it an Ex Parte Order to further detain the demonstrators, who were picked during Yoruba Nation Rally in Ojota axis of Lagos, for another 21 days.

The identified lawyer was later granted bail by the Magistrate on SELF Recognition.

Spokesperson of the Command, CSP Olumuyiwa Adejobi’s could not be reached at press time.

Meanwhile, six legal practitioners, who were led by a former Committee for Defense of Human Rights (CDHR) President, Olasupo Ojo, and another lawyer, Oladapo Kayode, were said to have waded in to prevent further detention.

It was learnt that the legal team stormed the State Criminal Investigation Department (CID) Panti to get more details that could assist in filing for the protesters’ bail application.

A statement released by the Media and Communications manager for the umbrella body of Yoruba Self-Determination Groups, Ilana Omo Oodua (IOO), Maxwell Adeleye, said that efforts were been intensified to ensure the agitators regain freedom.

These came after they were paraded at the Lagos Police Command headquarters for engaging in public disorder and defying the Lagos Police Command’s ban placed on public demonstrations across the state.

Some of the arrested protesters were identified as Abiodun Taiwo, Adagunodo Babatunde, Oluwafemi Adeleye, Oloye Taiwo, Saheed Kareem, Adebayo Waheed, Akinbode Sunday,  Lawal Akeem, Samuel Ire, Ogundile Dare

Others were Tajudeen Bakare, Abiodun Adenuga, Azeez Adetayo, Rasheed Shittu, Quadri Ishola, Oluwasegun Arire, Kunle Aremo, Olamilekan Lolade, Tunde Lawal, Musbau Rasaq, and Bamidele Akomolafe.

At the parade, the Commissioner of Police, Hakeem Odumosu, said that the suspects were arrested for violating the ban that no rally or gathering should hold in any part of the state.

Related Articles

Back to top button