Oluomo re-elected as Speaker


CITIZENS COMPASS – THE Ogun State House of Assembly has reelected the immediate past speaker, Olakunle Oluomo as the 10th Speaker of the Assembly. 

The election took place at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

At the elections, Mr Bolanle Ajayi from. Yewa South also emerged as Deputy Speaker.

Oluomo’s re-election followed his nomination by Musefiu Lamidi (Ado-Odo/Ota II) seconded by Hon. Ifedolapo Owode (Ijebu East) while the Deputy Speaker’s nomination was moved by Hon. ( Mrs.) Olanrewaju Bakare (Ijebu Ode) and seconded by Hon. Kaka Olusegun (Ijebu North)

The election occurred shortly after the Clerk and Head of Legislative Service, ‘Deji Adeyemo read the Governor’s proclamation of the 10th Assembly at the session held at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

In his acceptance speech, Speaker Oluomo after his nomination and election assured that he would run the affairs of the House with fairness, equity and justice for the benefit of the State.

On her part, the new Deputy Speaker, Hon. Ajayi appreciated her colleague-lawmakers with an assurance of being proactive and committed to legislative duties and the progress of the legislative arm and the entire State.

Members who were later administered with Oaths of Allegiance and that of Office included Yusuf Sheriff (Ado-Odo/Ota 1), Akingbade Jemili, (Imeko Afon), Lamidi Musefiu (Ado-Odo/Ota II), Elemide Oludaisi (Odeda), Adeniran Ademola (Sagamu II), Wahab Haruna (Yewa North II), Amosun Yusuf (Ewekoro), Soneye Damilola (Obafemi/Owode), Adegoke Adeyanju ( Yewa North I) Odunuga Olusegun (Ijebu North II) and Salami Fola (Ifo II)

Others were Adeleye Olalekan (Odogbolu), Oyedele Bisi (Ipokia), Bello Damilare( Sagamu I), Bakare Olanrewaju Oluwayemisi (Ijebu Ode), Ayodele Sunday (Abeokuta South II), Owode Ifedolapo (Ijebu East), Tella Babatunde (Abeokuta North), Kashamu Abdul (Ijebu North I), Lawal Adekunle (Ogun Waterside), Atobatele Olajide (Abeokuta South I), Adesanya Oluseun (Ijebu North East), Owodunni Babajide (Ikenne) and Dickson Awolaja (Remo North). 

The inauguration had in attendance the State Deputy Governor, Engr. Noimot Salako-Oyedele, Secretary to the State Government, Tokunbo Talabi, former Deputy Governor, Prince Segun Adesegun, former Speaker, Tunji Egbetokun, top government and political functionaries amongst others.


Related Articles

Back to top button